Had we but world enough, and time,
This coyness, lady, were no crime.
We would sit down and think which way
To walk, and pass our long love’s day;
Thou by the Indian Ganges’ side
Shouldst rubies find; I by the tide
Of Humber would complain. I would
Love you ten years before the Flood;
And you should, if you please, refuse
Till the conversion of the Jews.
My vegetable love should grow
Vaster than empires, and more slow.
An hundred years should go to praise
Thine eyes, and on thy forehead gaze;
Two hundred to adore each breast,
But thirty thousand to the rest;
An age at least to every part,
And the last age should show your heart.
For, lady, you deserve this state,
Nor would I love at lower rate.

But at my back I always hear
Time’s wingèd chariot hurrying near;
And yonder all before us lie
Deserts of vast eternity.
Thy beauty shall no more be found,
Nor, in thy marble vault, shall sound
My echoing song; then worms shall try
That long preserv’d virginity,
And your quaint honour turn to dust,
And into ashes all my lust.
The grave’s a fine and private place,
But none I think do there embrace.

Now therefore, while the youthful hue
Sits on thy skin like morning dew,
And while thy willing soul transpires
At every pore with instant fires,
Now let us sport us while we may;
And now, like am’rous birds of prey,
Rather at once our time devour,
Than languish in his slow-chapp’d power.
Let us roll all our strength, and all
Our sweetness, up into one ball;
And tear our pleasures with rough strife
Thorough the iron gates of life.
Thus, though we cannot make our sun
Stand still, yet we will make him run.

I cannot help myself, but thinking how fast the days glide by, hours become seconds, years like months. When I was much younger, it seemed to me that the days were longer, and that there was enough time to do all that one wanted. But nowadays, at the end of the day I am complaining that there are too little hours in a day, and that we are sleeping our time away.

Is it me, or do other people have the same problem?

It’s bothering me, and irritating me also.

I tend to live a lot in my imagination, and pay very little heed to the monotonous and repetitive things in life. I actually look forward to being old, to retiring, to sharing my life experiences with others. Even death holds no fear, as my belief in the continuation and constant evolution of all life – and I’m not just talking about evolution as commonly understood, but rather, metaphysically understood – tells me that whatever each incarnation brings, it’ll be a new experience that helps me to slowly awaken and broaden in consciousness.

Time is an illusion, just like death. And if you think that’s a fantasy (and maybe it is; who can say for certain?), then it’s a beautiful one … and I’ll take that over all the dross that some in this world would prefer us to focus on.

I suppose one cannot escape the pull of time – it is like being sucked along a long wind tunnel – you struggle but in the end resistance is futile. Life can be like being on a treadmill – you can’t get off or you’re finished. I am reminded of that great TV series The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin written by David Nobbs, a superb comedy about a man who does the same things every day – walks the same street to work, sits next to the same people every day on the train and says the same thing to his wife every day and night.

I try not to think too much about time passing (slow or fast) but it is impossible to escape. There are negative people and negative thoughts at every turn.

We have all bounced out of bed on a Monday morning eager to get to work only to have someone staring into their coffee and telling you how they wish it was Friday or they wish they could go home and sleep. There is nothing worse to make your blood pressure shoot back up.

Maybe we should take down the clocks we watch constantly to see when it is time to go home, remove our watches to stop us thinking about which train we can catch to get home and not look at our daily agenda. We should go to bed when we feel like it, eat when hungry, and not worry about listening to some music because it is 11 p.m. and it lasts for two hours so it will be too late to finish it.

