For some time one of the top ten search terms used by visitors to this blog has been “tracey emin tits”. At last I have a post for anyone who has ever typed those three words into a search engine:

Artist Tracey Emin has unveiled her latest work – new 34DD breasts following reduction surgery. The 46-year-old, famous for works such as her unmade bed, decided to go under the knife after failing to reduce her bust through a low-calorie diet.

She said: “I was a 34G. I lost a stone on the diet but my breasts were getting bigger. This was causing problems that could get worse as I approach the menopause. I’m now a very happy 34DD without neckache, without backache and headaches.”

Before breast reduction surgery the modern artist, whose installation My Bed won the 1999 Turner Prize, needed a support bra to disguise her cleavage.

She claims she was flat chested in her early teens but developed a large bust after taking the contraceptive pill at 14. She said: “They grew out of control. My grandmother had a 46in chest, it runs in the family.”

Tracey says she has taken up running again now that it is no longer painful.

“I’ve not kept it secret,” she added. “Everybody knows. I’ve been out celebrating. I’d advise any woman to do the same.”

